Fat Is Not a Fairy Tale

I’m reading a collection of short works (stories, poems, and nonfiction) by Jane Yolen right now. It’s called Once Upon a Time (She Said). When I saw that there was a piece with the title “Fat Is Not a Fairy Tale”, I had to skip ahead and read it. I thought I’d share it here.

I am thinking of a fairy tale,
Cinder Elephant,
Sleeping Tubby,
Snow Weight,
where the princess is not
anorexic, wasp-waisted,
flinging herself down the stairs.

I am thinking of a fairy tale,
Hansel and Great,
Repoundsel,
Bounty and the Beast,
where the beauty
has a pillowed breast,
and fingers plump as sausage.

I am thinking of a fairy tale
that is not yet written,
for a teller not yet born,
for a listener not yet conceived,
for a world not yet won,
where everything round is good:
the sun, wheels, cookies, and the princess.

According to the “First Appearances” section, it first appeared in a book called Such a Pretty Face (apparently there are at least five books with that title; this one is edited by Lee Martindale). I may have to get it. If I do, I’ll probably review it, although I think I’ve learned my lesson from Fat Girl in a Strange Land and will not try to review each story individually. (I’m still hoping that I’ll finish doing that, but it’s been a while already since my last post on that, so no promises.)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

